Carlson Captures All-Conference Honors
Wednesday, April 23, 2014 | by Jamie Church (@jlchurch)

MACON, Ga. – After leading the team to a fourth-place finish at the 2014 Atlantic Sun Championship, senior Briana Carlson earned All-Conference Second Team honors, as announced by the conference on Wednesday. 

The accolade is Carlson’s third all-conference honor as she earned a second team nod as a freshman and picked up first-team honors during her junior season.

“I am very proud of Briana for being named Second Team All-Conference,” said head coach Sarah Trew.  “She set a goal to have a strong finish to her career and it is nice to see her hard work pay off.  Briana holds many of the individual scoring records we have at FGCU and has been one of our most consistent players.  We are grateful for the new level she has taken our program to and we are so happy to see her earn this recognition.”

Carlson finished the 2013-14 season with a scoring average of 75.67 through 26 rounds with four rounds at par or better.  She captured the tournament crown at the 2013 Eagle Invitational in the fall and finished sixth at the prestigious Pat Bradley Invitational with a three-round score of 214.  During the Pat Bradley event, Carlson carded two rounds of 71, her best performance of the season.

At this year’s A-Sun Championship, her final event as an Eagle, Carlson placed 12th with a total score of 228.  The top-15 finish was Carlson’s fifth of the season.

The women’s golf team produced a successful 2013-14 season, earning three top-five finishes and four more top-11 rankings while competing in a challenging schedule.  The team capped off the season with a fourth-place finish at the 2014 Atlantic Sun Conference Championship.

Atlantic Sun Award Winners
Golfer of the Year: Kaew Preamchuen, Kennesaw State
Freshman of the Year: Dulcie Sverdloff, Kennesaw State
Coach of the Year: Stefanie Shelton, ETSU 

All-Atlantic Sun First Team
*Vivienne Chin, ETSU, So.
Gabriella Wahl, ETSU, Jr.
Jessica Welch, Jacksonville, Jr.
*Kaew Preamchuen, Kennesaw State, Jr.
*Lacey Fears, Mercer, Sr.
*- Indicates unanimous selection

All-Atlantic Sun Second Team
Sian Evans, ETSU, Sr.
Briana Carlson, FGCU, Sr.
Ines Lescudier, Kennesaw State, Jr.
Dulcie Sverdloff, Kennesaw State, Fr.
Mary Alice Murphy, Mercer, Sr.
Tess Huber, North Florida, So. Port St. Lucie, Fla.

All-Atlantic Sun Freshman Team
Linda Dobele, ETSU
Dulcie Sverdloff, Kennesaw State
Haley Austin, Mercer
Katy Harris, Mercer
Alessandra Kutz, Stetson