Women’s Cross Country Takes Seventh at The A-Sun Championship
Saturday, October 27, 2012 | by Matt Judd

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Led by 13th and 17th place finishes from junior Kelly Perzanowski (St. Clairsville, Ohio/St. Clairsville HS) and senior Barrie Cohen (Voorhees, NJ/Eastern Regional HS), the FGCU women’s cross country earned a seventh place finish at the 2012 Atlantic Sun Conference Championships, Saturday morning.

Perzanowski came in with a time of 18:00.8, which earned her A-Sun All-Conference second team honor and Cohen followed when she finished with a time of 18:16.7. Perzanowski’s time is the fastest time in 5K history at FGCU with Cohen’s time today being the second fastest ever. The previous fastest time was set by Cohen (18:13.62) at the conference championship back in 2010.

Lipscomb took home first place with a score of 40, followed by North Florida (63), Jacksonville (105), Kennesaw State (125) and ETSU (126) to round out the top five teams.

Freshman Courtney Corradetti (San Diego, Ca./Vista HS) was the third FGCU competitor to finish when she took 34th place with a time of 19:14.0. Junior Gretchen MacMillan (Ocala, Fla./West Port HS) finished the competition with a time of 20:07.3 in 56th place, followed by freshman Kelsey English (Oakhurst, N.J./Ocean Township HS) who finished 63rd with a time of 20:33.1.

Sophomore Ali Wilbur (Saint James City, Fla./Ida S. Baker HS) finished 73rd with a time of 21:28.0. Freshman Savanah Lacey (Oviedo, Fla./Oviedo HS) and senior Alyssa Sawyer (Key West, Fla./Key West HS) finished in 75th and 77th place, respectively with times of 21:35.6 and 21:57.6.

The Eagles will now turn their attention to the NCAA Southeast Regional Championships in Tallahassee, Fla. Nov. 9.

1. Lipscomb – 40
2. North Florida – 63
3. Jacksonville – 105
4. Kennesaw St. – 125
5. ETSU – 126
6. Mercer – 152
7. FGCU – 174
8. Northern Kentucky – 186
9. USC Upstate – 199
10. Stetson - 293

13. Kelly Perzanowski – 18:00.8
17. Barrie Cohen – 18:16.7
34. Courtney Corradetti – 19:14.0
56. Gretchen MacMillan – 20:07.3
63. Kelsey English – 20:33.1
73. Alicen Wilbur – 21:28.0
75. Savanah Lacey – 21:35.6
77. Alyssa Sawyer – 21:57.6

Atlantic Sun All-Conference First Team
Joane Pierre, USC Upstate – Runner of the Year
Shelby Kittrell, North Florida
Dani Walker, Lipscomb
Katie Hirko, ETSU
Tessa Hoefle, Lipscomb
Svenja Meyer, Jacksonville
Meggie Emons, North Florida

Atlantic Sun All-Conference Second Team
Kacie Niemann, Mercer
Kendra Lobley, Lipscomb
Katlyn Will, Mercer
Madelin Talbert, Lipscomb
Maggie Lawrence, Lipscomb
Kelly Perzanowski, FGCU
Minna Fields, Lipscomb

Atlantic Sun All-Freshmen Team
Katie Hirko, ETSU – Freshman of the Year
Madelin Talbert, Lipscomb
Alexis Irwin, North Florida
Alessandra Valdes, North Florida
Destiny Jenkins, Kennesaw State