Hansen Named to Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team for Third-Consecutive Year
Tuesday, April 01, 2014 | by Jamie Church (@jlchurch)

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Just two weeks after guiding the FGCU women’s basketball team to its second NCAA Tournament appearance in three years, Sarah Hansen (McKean, Pa./General McLane High School) added to her list of accomplishments.  The senior captain earned a position on the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete team, as announced by the organization announced on Monday, Mar. 31.  Hansen earns the recognition for the third-consecutive year.

It is the fourth-consecutive year that the program has received the honor as Courtney Chihil picked up the distinction after the 2010-11 and 2011-12 seasons.

“We couldn’t be prouder of all that Sarah has accomplished in her FGCU tenure,” said Director of Athletics Ken Kavanagh of the accolade. “She epitomizes the definition of ‘student-athlete’ in every sense and has to be considered the finest all-around Eagle ever in relationship to the total contributions that she has made and the well-earned honors that have been bestowed upon her.”

Hansen, a chemistry major and mathematics minor, holds a cumulative grade point average of 3.88.  As an honors student, she has earned a 4.0 GPA in four semesters and has received Dean’s List or higher distinction in every semester.  Hansen was named the program’s first ever Capital One Academic All-America Division I Second-Team member and has earned All-District Four honors three years in a row.  Hansen was a Rhodes Scholar nominee, was selected as FGCU’s 2014 NCAA Woman of the Year nominee and recently earned her third-consecutive Atlantic Sun Scholar Athlete of the Year award.

The academic award complements Hansen’s second-straight Atlantic Sun Player of the Year award.  As the team’s captain and only senior, Hansen led the team to its fourth-straight regular season title with 13.6 points and 7.1 rebounds per game this season.  Hansen also recorded a team-high shooting percentage at .480 and led the team with 64 steals during the regular season.  She recorded six double-doubles on the season with four in the last seven games of the regular season and had 25 games with double-figure points with two 20+ point performances. Hansen led the Eagles in scoring on seven occasions and led the team in rebounds 20 times.

In Hansen’s four years on the court, the Eagles never finished below first place in the Atlantic Sun standings.  Hansen’s tenure boasts 110 team wins that include notable wins over LSU, Michigan State, Virginia Tech and USF and a mark of 70-4 in Atlantic Sun play.  Hansen guided the team to two NCAA Tournament appearances, in which the Eagles took a higher-seeded team to overtime on both occasions. 

The award also considers community and campus service experience.  Hansen has recorded over 150 hours of community service as a representative of FGCU.  She has volunteered with the Imaginarium of Fort Myers, the Children’s Hospital of Southwest Florida and most recently the Trails 4 Tails initiative in which Hansen’s group raised funds and awareness for The Ocean Conservancy to aid Florida’s endangered marine life.

2014 marks the 12th year the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association has presented Scholar-Athlete teams in men and women's basketball. Two 10-member squads are selected for each gender as well as an overall male and female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Criteria are based on the nominee being a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials and at least a 3.2 cumulative GPA. The student-athlete must have reached junior athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution (true freshmen, red-shirt freshmen and ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible), completed at least three academic semesters/five quarters at the nominated institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games.

About Division I-AAA ADA:

Now in its 13th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 101 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 48th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.

For more information on the FGCU women’s basketball team and the NCAA Tournament, stay tuned to FGCUAthletics.com and follow the official Twitter of FGCU women’s basketball at @FGCU_WBB.

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team
Alexis Dobbs, American University, 3.81, Public Health/Minor Biology
Jen Dumiak, American University, 3.94, Mathematics & Economics
Sarah Hansen, FGCU, 3.88, Chemistry/Minor Mathematics
Amanda Hyde, Indiana-Purdue University-Fort Wayne, 3.97, Mathematics/Minor Psychology
Katie Fox, St. Francis College, 4.00, English & History
Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop University, 3.34, Exercise Science
Eilise O'Connor, University of Missouri Kansas City, 3.99, Chemistry
Haley Seilbert, Indiana-Purdue University-Fort Wayne, 3.98, Communication Science & Disorders
Erin Shields, Saint Joseph's University, 3.82, Finance & Accounting
Kacie Sowell, Seattle University, 3.53, Sports & Exercise Science