Women's Basketball Garners Multiple Postseason Awards
Tuesday, March 03, 2009

FORT MYERS, Fla. - After winning the Atlantic Sun regular season championship for the first time in school history, the FGCU women's basketball team earned a few more honors on Tuesday.  The conference announced their postseason honors and awards, with FGCU taking home four awards.

Regular season champion FGCU earned its initial First-Team selections in school history as junior Adrianne McNally and junior Chelsea Lyles earned honors averaging 14.4 points and 13.9, respectively, good for fourth and sixth in the A-Sun.

"Adrianne and Chelsea's recognition is well deserved," said head coach Karl Smesko. "They are both great players, and I am really pleased that they both are recognized as first-team, all-conference performers."

FGCU’s Kelsey Jacobson earned Freshman of the Year honors, helping the Eagles reload after losing a pair of potent seniors in Chelsea Dermyer and Delia De La Torre. Jacobson led the A-Sun in 3-point percentage (44.4) and 3-pointers made (80).

"I have never had a player make as many clutch shots as Kelsey made this year," said Smesko. "She has had a tremendous freshman season."

FGCU’s Karl Smesko claimed a regular season conference crown for the first time in the program’s existence as his squad amassed a 17-3 conference mark earning him Coach of the Year. The 2007 NCAA Division II national runner-up, the Eagles have earned their second WNIT bid in as many years of eligibility.

"We had a lot of players play really well this season," said Smesko. "The entire team came together to pull out some very tightly contested games. I appreciate the efforts of our players and our assistant coaches."

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.