Men's Soccer Voted Third in A-Sun Preseason Poll
Tuesday, August 17, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Returning 23 players from last year’s club that finished third in the regular season standings, the FGCU men’s soccer team was predicted to repeat that finish in the 2010 Atlantic Sun preseason coaches’ poll, announced by the league office on Tuesday.

After finishing second in the regular season standings and claiming the 2009 A-Sun Championship crown, Stetson was selected first overall in the poll, receiving six of the 10 first-place votes. Campbell received two first-place votes and was predicted second, while FGCU and ETSU grabbed a vote apiece for third and fourth, respectively. The conference coaches also selected Stetson as the preseason favorite to win the A-Sun Tournament.

Led by reigning A-Sun Coach of the Year Bob Butehorn, FGCU closed the 2009 campaign by winning five of its last seven games to finish 6-3 in league play. The Eagles landed five players on last year’s postseason All-Conference teams, all of whom are returning this season.

After home exhibition matches against the University of Tampa (Aug. 25) and Rollins College (Aug. 28), the Blue and Green officially open the season on Wednesday, September 1, at 7:30 p.m. at No. 16 USF in Tampa, Fla. The home opener at FGCU Soccer Complex is scheduled for Thursday, September 16, at 7:30 p.m. against Drexel, as part of the Embassy Suites Kick-Off Classic. The Eagles conclude the Classic with a Saturday night meeting against No. 18 Ohio State, also set for 7:30 p.m. on Sept. 18.

Tickets are on sale and can be purchased through the FGCU Ticket Office in Alico Arena either in person or by phone at (239) 590-7145. Tickets are also available on and are $6 for adults and $3 for youth (Ages 3-18). Admission for FGCU faculty and staff along with students is free.

Atlantic Sun Preseason Poll
Pl. School (1st) Points
1. Stetson (6) 94
2. Campbell (2) 78
3. FGCU (1) 77
4. ETSU (1) 66
5. Mercer 65
6. Jacksonville 59
7. Lipscomb 41
8. UNF 30
9. Belmont 26
10. USC Upstate 14
Tournament Champion: Stetson (seven votes)

A-Sun Preseason First Team
Pos. Name (Class) School
GK Brett Petricek (So.) Mercer
D *Guilherme Reis (Sr.) ETSU
D Tobbias Hottner (Jr.) Jacksonville
D Garrett McLaughlin (Sr.) Lipscomb
MF *Fredrik Brustad (Jr.) Stetson
MF Ian Cameron (Sr.) Mercer
MF Mitchell Cardenas (So.) Campbell
MF Jonathan Mendoza (So.) Stetson
F *Miguel DaSilva (Sr.) Lipscomb
F Brandon Tarr (Fr.) Belmont
F Adam O’Neill (Jr.) UNF
F Aaron Schoenfeld (Jr.) ETSU
* - Unanimous Selection