After Further Review: Butehorn Named A-Sun Coach of the Year
Saturday, May 08, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. - An Atlantic Sun Conference internal audit conducted on all-conference balloting resulted in the discovery of inconsistencies that led to All-Conference honors and individual award winners being added in three sports – women’s soccer, men’s soccer, and women’s basketball. FGCU men's soccer head coach Bob Butehorn has been named 2009 A-Sun Coach of the Year.

“It is a regretful situation that our office created a disparity in calculations and caused confusion over the honorees through our own internal lapse,” Atlantic Sun Commissioner Ted Gumbart said. “I strongly believe that we have multiple individuals deserving of certain awards, and we will honor both of the worthy competitors in these instances. Further, the cause of this circumstance has been eliminated and safeguards implemented to prevent such an occurrence in the future.”

The conference completed an exhaustive review of all sports to date this season, reviewed tallies from last season, and determined that the inconsistencies are limited to the three sports referenced. The Atlantic Sun determined from the audit that multiple candidates ended up equally deserving of certain individual awards. For these categories, the conference will have two honorees, with all awards announced in the fall and winter remaining in place, with the following additions recognized.

In women’s soccer, Jacksonville’s Eva Leeper will be recognized as a Freshman of the Year award winner, in men’s soccer FGCU’s Bob Butehorn will be recognized as a Coach of the Year award winner and in women’s basketball, ETSU’s TaRonda Wiles will be recognized as a Player of the Year award winner.

"We are pleased to see the great work of Coach Butehorn and his staff belatedly recognized," said FGCU Director of Athletics Ken Kavanagh. "In three short years, Bob has developed a program that has continuously improved since our inception and exemplifies what you desire both on and off the field. In turn, we share his vision of much more to come."

Campbell’s Doug Hess, who has since left to coach at Drexel, was originally named A-Sun coach of the year for the third time after leading the Camels to the regular-season title.

Butehorn guided FGCU to an 8-7-1 mark in the program’s third season, good for a third-place finish in the A-Sun standings (6-3-0 A-Sun). The FGCU men’s soccer team picked up their biggest win of the 2009 campaign when they handed the Campbell Camels their first conference loss in almost two years during a 4-0 win on October 24 at the FGCU Soccer Complex. Campbell’s conference winning streak ended at 18 with the loss. Before the loss to FGCU the Camels had not lost in A-Sun regular season competition since Oct. 13, 2007 at Lipscomb. Since that setback, the Camels were 16-0-2 in their last 18 league outings, which was the longest such streak among 203 Division I members.

"My coaching staff has done an outstanding job in building the foundation of our program," said Butehorn. "I'm honored to represent them, FGCU, and the A-Sun with this award." The 2010 edition of Butehorn's Eagles will look to build upon the success they experienced in 2009, as they return their entire starting lineup and welcome back goalkeeper Adam Glick (Leola, Pa.), who sat out last season due to injury. The tentative FGCU men's soccer schedule is loaded, highlighted by a home game with defending Big 10 and top-10 ranked Ohio State.

The Atlantic Sun also made the following additions to the All-Conference teams: in women’s soccer, Jacksonville’s Jessica Hurtado earns First Team honors and ETSU’s Megan Masch earns Second Team honors. In men’s soccer, Campbell’s Justin Madrid earns First Team honors. All award winners will receive the appropriate plaque and/or certificates for their honors. The Atlantic Sun record book will recognize two winners for these awards.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.