Forde and Glick Earn A-Sun All-Freshman Honors
Tuesday, November 13, 2007
Anthony Forde led the Eagles in points, goals, shots on goal and game-winning goals.
Anthony Forde led the Eagles in points, goals, shots on goal and game-winning goals.

Macon, Ga. – Freshmen Adam Glick and Anthony Forde have been named to the Atlantic Sun Conference All-Freshman Team the conference office announced today.

Glick (Leola, Pa.) started all 19 of FGCU’s games this season and was a catalyst for the Eagles on defense. Glick was named A-Sun Player of the Week two times during the regular season, while earning eight wins in goal, tallying four shutouts and posting 86 saves during the season. Glick’s saves and shutout totals ranked him third in the A-Sun in both categories.

Forde (Odessa, Fla.) joins Glick on the All-Freshman Team. Forde started in 17 games for the Eagles this season and played a big part in FGCU’s offensive attack. Forde ended the season ranking first on the team in points (13), goals (6), shots on goal (16) and game-winning goals (tied-2). Forde’s six goals ranked him eighth in the A-Sun this year.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is a 12-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Gardner-Webb University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

First Team All A-Sun

GK Aaron Johnson CAM, D Jay Ayres BEL, D Brian Cocciolo JU, D Stephen Oyuga CAM, MF Richard Jata CAM, MF Kirk Labusch STET, MF Josue Soto CAM, F * Anton Axelsson JU, F Richard Godfrey GWU, F Ben Page LIP, F Tanner Wolfe STET

* Unanimous Selection

Second Team All A-Sun

GK Matt Gilman JU, GK Evan White STET, D Robert Hodge STET, D Matt Hollyoak UNF, D Michael Hutchison CAM, MF Stefan Runeman JU, MF Ian Schinelli BEL, MF Troy Simon UPST, F Vicente Arze MER, F Miguel DaSilva LIP, F Akil DeFreitas UNF

All-Freshman Team

T.J. Brown BEL, Ian Cameron MER, * Miguel DaSilva LIP, Akil DeFreitas UNF, Anthony Forde FGCU, Matt Gilman JU, Adam Glick FGCU, Adam O’Neill UNF, Miguel Rodrigues STET,* Josue Soto CAM, * Eugene Starikov STET,

* Unanimous Selection

Player of the Year: Anton Axelsson, JU

Defensive Player of the Year: Jay Ayres, BEL

Freshman of the Year: Josue Soto, CAM

Coach of the Year: Mike Johnson, JU